No Sew Cosplay: Wasabi from Big Hero 6

wasabi

This cosplay is probably the most difficult one of the Big Hero 6 gang in a few ways and left me scratching my head at first when I went to search for items for this cosplay. Fortunately, after a little bit of tricky word play and keyword changes, I was able to find some pieces that I think match this perfectly. Not so fortunately, there is some modifications that are required but only for the sweater piece. Phew!

Headband: After playing around in the search engine on Amazon for what felt like forever and a day or two, I managed to actually find a headband that matches very closely to the on that Wasabi wears! This headband is about as good as it gets in my opinion. From the looks of it, you might need to fold the sides in to get the right look but otherwise it’s pretty perfect.

wasabiheadband

Undershirt: Like every guy in Big Hero 6… It’s a requirement to have a white undershirt. If you are ripped like Wasabi, however, you might want to go with this t-shirt made for beefy guys.

Sweater: Probably the hardest part of this entire cosplay is the sweater. I searched and searched and searched and still came up with no real close matches in terms of the design on the sweater. Fortunately, that doesn’t rule this out completely as a no sew cosplay as I was still able to find a sweater that was the right color here.It would only take some carefully placed tape to keep you from straying out of line and some fabric paint in order to bring the pattern to life. Depending on how bright the green is, you can also fade the clothing by running it through the wash a few times with some towels.

wasabisweater

Pants: While Wasabi’s pants look at first to be ordinary jeans, they actually aren’t. If you look closely you can see that the pants have elastic on the bottom but still  have the look and feel of a pair of black jeans with a slightly faded look. After some careful searching I managed to come up with these jogger pants! There is also another option here though these are missing a little bit of the destressed look that I like about the first pair (pictured below).

joggerpants

Shoes/Jaki-Tabi: I had never heard of Jaki-Tabi tennis shoes until I went to go search for them. I understood that the style existed in Japan, of course, but I still had no clue that they made them in a modern style. Well, say hello to these Marugo Sports Jaki-Tabi shoes! They are pretty wild! I just realized that Wasabi has taught me something new!

jakitabi

And if you did everything correctly and you look the part of Wasabi, you might want to make sure you don’t spill wasabi on your shirt… That happened only one time and now you are branded forever!

wasabicool

Which character do you want to see featured next? Leave a comment below with a suggestion and I will see what magic I can work for you!

Leave a Reply

