Wreck-it-Ralph Vanellope

No Sew Cosplay: Vanellope Von Schweetz from Wreck it Ralph

vanellope

What’s that? You wanted me to help you cosplay Vanellope? Your breath was so bad that it made my ears numb! Honestly I thought this cosplay would be way too difficult to pull off without some major sewing. However, they actually do make some skirts that could work.

Hairpieces: I didn’t think it would be possible to find these pre-made. Fortunately multitudes of people on Etsy have made this a reality. This set of Candy Hair Pins was the most reasonably priced one that I found and they also made the licorice hair tie! Make sure that you read their directions, however!

Hoodie: This hoodie is actually easy to find and won’t have you shelling out a ton of gold coins from all of your races to get it. You will need one like this (below) and then to simply replace the white string with a pink string you could get from the crafts store or die the white string a pink color with fabric paint. Simple, right? There is also this one here that is a lighter teal color but is men’s size so order smaller. If you want to break the rules on “no sew” you can also thread a pink string through the fabric in two spots above the pocket for extra detail points. It’s actually possible to buy this pre-made on Etsy as well with the sewn in pink strings above the middle pocket.

vanellopehoodie

Skirt: Here is where I did not think I would have any luck finding this at all. A Reeses Peanut Butter Cup Style skirt? Surely they don’t even make those… Surprise, surprise, they actually do make double layered pleated skirts and I managed to find not one, but two different ones in brown. This one (pictured above) is my favorite, however, as it’s truly a dark brown color. The price is also reasonable while it’s on sale bringing it down to $42 when it used to be $100 more than that. The material IS leather so the pricing does make sense. However, if that is STILL outside of your budget there are alternatives such as this skirt (pictured below) though I was not a fan of how light brown this option was.

vanellopeskirt

vanellopeskirt2

Leggings: Here is where we run into some expense if you are going to flat out just buy these without any sort of modifications. Some well done leggings for Vanellope are priced at well over $50. I don’t know about you but this seems outrageously high to me. My first instinct is to make them myself and take the idea that this person on Etsy had and make it my own. The first thing to do would be to get some white leggings and some spray paint instead of airbrushing it. Then using some tape, mark the stripes correctly after placing the leggings on a mannequin or a rolled up tube of cardboard or poster board to retain the shape.

These guys have the right idea:

I recommend making sure to match the blue color to your hoodie and pay attention to the direction of the stripes, however. That’s super important! Even if your hoodie is a tad too bright blue, if your leggings match this will be perfect still.

Shoes: I’m pretty sure that Vanellope is wearing a type of rainboot with a pink sole to it. I found ones with laces here (pictured above). You might be able to find taller boots which will make you hopefully appear a bit shorter. I found some on ebay like these though they are in limited sizes.

vanellopeshoes1

Makeup/Wig: This awesome youtube cosplayer shows how to do the makeup for Vanellope, making your life easier! She also takes other steps for the rest of the cosplay that you could consider as well. There are no right and wrong ways in cosplay, really! If you don’t already have the right hair like she does, I suggest a wig like this one~

Now you are free to run off to the convention and make fun of everyone there.

Which character do you want to see featured next? Leave a comment below with a suggestion and I will see what magic I can work for you!

Leave a Reply

