No Sew Cosplay: Nico Yazawa from Love Live!

nicoyazawafullbody

Nico, Nico Smile!

Hair Bows/Wig: You will need two pink bows for your hair. I found these awesome clip on ones that are good size, so they will stand out. You will need to place your hair up with regular hair bands and then clip these into place afterward. If you really don’t want to have separate bows, you could also purchase a wig like this one that already has the bows in the hair like Nico. What I like about these is that they are overly large bows, so they will also make an impact in the hair. Since the rest of the outfit is pretty standard, this might help you be a bit more recognizable.

nicobow

Bow Tie: This one gave me a little bit of trouble. It’s probably easier to simply get the same exact type of bow as you purchased for the hair but in an emerald green color like this one here. After that you will still need to get some darker green fabric paint and go in to add the design on the bow tie.

nicobowtie

Undershirt: A simple white dress shirt should be all you need as far as the undershirt is concerned. Wow, I just realized how many cosplays really have a white dress shirt involved so keep this in nice condition and you could probably easily use it for something else!

Cardigan: I found this light pink cardigan sweater for a pretty reasonable price! It always makes me nervous when a product doesn’t have reviews but from the looks of the picture it seems to run a little large. I probably would order a size down but only after confirming with the seller that it runs large first. While a little more expensive, this one (pictured below) has really good reviews on the product. I also liked that the sleeves seemed long on this, as Nico’s sleeves are visible a little bit past the jacket sleeves.

lightpinkcardigan

Jacket: It’s really not that hard to find a blazer or a business professional jacket that has golden buttons. What I struggled with during the search for this cosplay was finding one that also had buttons on the sleeves for the cuff. I did find this jacket though that I really loved the look of. It runs small, so make sure to order a size up though. I did find some darker jackets that were more navy than blue like this one on ebay but they are typical men’s sizes so pay attention and make sure to get the size right for you. It would be less expensive this way though. Whichever you go with, make sure to keep it unbuttoned like Nico does.

nicojacket

Skirt: I knew this was not going to be an easy thing to find, but oddly enough the pre-made cosplay outfits that you can find for Love Live! have done a nice job with the skirt. I found the entire outfit here on Etsy. Now, my major problem with this is that the rest of the outfit seems cheap and has the wrong colors for most of it… Besides the skirt. I like the skirt! Besides, I’m the type that would re-wear individual pieces from a cosplay and it’s hard to tell if this is all sewn together or not. I also found a skirt that had similar colors but um… It’s super super super short (pictured below) so it probably won’t work for many people. Worse case scenario you could get a regular blue pleated skirt like this one without a lot of ruffles and use other methods to create the pattern like fabric paint being very very careful and measuring it out to get those straight lines.

nicosupershort

Knee High Socks: Here are some black knee high socks! ‘Nuff said!

kneehighsock

Loafers: Some plain regular brown loafers are the best for this outfit! Nothing too crazy! I liked these because they had good reviews but the price point was super low for shoes. Since the other aspects of the cosplay were a bit pricey, I was hoping to offset the cost a bit.

loafternico

Makeup/Wig: If you don’t already have the proper hair, they even have wigs like this one already styled in ponytails for you. My personal favorite wig company though is Epic Cosplay and they have a 20″ black wig on their site that would be perfect. I also found a makeup tutorial for her.

And now you are ready to bring a smile to the world!

nicosmile

Which character do you want to see featured next? Leave a comment below with a suggestion and I will see what magic I can work for you!

2 thoughts on “No Sew Cosplay: Nico Yazawa from Love Live!

Leave a Reply

