No Sew Cosplay: Ford Pines from Gravity Falls

stanfordfullbody

Please… Call me, a friend!

Glasses: Ford is wearing a pair of large glasses with a “nerd” frame. They are huge, really! I personally like these pair because they are the correct style that Ford is wearing. The lenses are clear as well. I’m not sure if the material would crack? Instead I would take some paint and draw on a crack versus attempting anything else, as you might shatter the lens entirely. These are also unisex!

fordglasses2

Coat: Stanford is wearing what’s either a trench coat or a field coat with elbow patches. It is ripped on the bottom as it is old. I think that the design is vintage, since the coat was from around the 70’s to 80’s. I managed to find one but in a women’s style like this one (top picture). However, I’m sure it would still work, especially if you leave the belt untied. Only problem is that this one does not have any chest pockets so you wouldn’t be able to have a pen in a pocket like Stanford. Alternatively, you could get a field jacket like this one (bottom picture) in an extra large size (to get closer to the length).

 stanfordjacket2

stanfordjacket

Sweater: Uncle Ford is wearing a darker red turtleneck sweater. Since there are a lot of details in this sweater, I’d think it would be a good idea to get one with cable knitting or at least a ribbed knitting. I personally like this one here.

fordsweater

Strap: I’m honestly not sure what the purpose of Stan’s strap is. It’s not attached to a bag that I can tell and it’s really just a belt slung over his chest. For now, until we know what the purpose is for this, I’d recommend getting a brown nylon belt and strapping it across. I’ve seen people also use leather belts, but I think this more closely matches the type of belt Ford has on.

fordbelt

Pants: For Ford’s pants, you could either do black jeans like these ones (top picture), especially if you happen to already have a pair in order to lower the cost of the cosplay. Or you could alternatively use a pair of black tactical pants like these ones (bottom picture). I personally like the tactical pants and think this would fit better, but I’m not sure how well this would look with the sweater. The jeans would probably be your best bet.

fordpants

fordpants2

Boots: With Ford, like Wendy, it’s difficult to tell what type of boots he’s really wearing. Due to the lack of shoelaces on the boots, my assumption is that he is also wearing a pair of working boots like these ones due to his occupation. Alternatively, you could probably get away with safety boots or rain boots to keep the cost a bit lower.

fordshoes

Extra Fingers(?): I have not been able to find any sort of tutorial video on how to make it appear that you have extra fingers. Stanford has six fingers on each hand, after all. Your best bet if you are handy enough (get it) would be to make Ford’s gloves from Dungeons, Dungeons and More Dungeons and use those to add a sixth finger as I think any sort of attached latex might not hold up or look right. I don’t think this will make or break a cosplay of him though if you hide your hands in photo-ops or have someone photoshop you extra fingers afterward.

stangloves

And now, you’re hip to the times. Like eight tracks, those are still popular right?

 stanfordeighttracks

Which character do you want to see featured next? Leave a comment below with a suggestion and I will see what magic I can work for you!

10 thoughts on “No Sew Cosplay: Ford Pines from Gravity Falls

  1. The character you should do next should be (young) Fiddleford Hadron McGucket or Simon Petrikov before he put the crown on! Or you could do both. Anyway this is a great cosplay! I have a trench coat, but it doesn’t have elbow patches. But I got some elbow patches, so…I’m gonna iron them onto the trench coat. I also just got the sweater from the pic you had on the page thing but other than that, Thanks! :D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooo, I hadn’t thought about that! I’ll have to research him haha. I’ve been so bad about doing any articles later. I’m so glad I could help even a tiny bit! I would love to see your cosplay!

      Like

  2. The character you should do next should be (young) Fiddleford Hadron McGucket or Simon Petrikov before he put on the ice crown. Anyway this really helps me out to find the correct stuff for the cosplay! Thanks! :D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

